Assembly Awards

HomeMembersAssemblies and SectionsAboutAssembly Awards ▶ Assembly on Allergy, Immunology and Inflammation Rising Star Achievement Award
Assembly on Allergy, Immunology and Inflammation Rising Star Achievement Award

This award recognizes early junior faculty (see below) with a trajectory of achievements in a scientific area of the AII Assembly who demonstrates exemplary promise for a future of achievement. The Awardee will receive a recognition plaque and make a 5 minute presentation of their work to the AII Assembly at the Assembly Membership Meeting.


  • The awardee must be a Primary or Secondary AII member.
  • The awardee must be an Instructor level or Assistant Professor level (or equivalent) at the time of nomination
  • Limited to nominees that are ≤ 5 years from terminal doctoral degree (PhDs) or completion of medical fellowship training (MDs or MD/PhDs). Individual waivers of time rule will require a written statement as to the reason for waiver, and will be considered on a case by case basis.
  • Single award per year
  • No cash award


  • Nominations will come from AII Primary or Secondary Assembly members
  • Submit a completed nomination form summarizing what the nominee has contributed to impact their field thus far and why you believe they demonstrate clear promise for ongoing productivity/achievement.
  • Attach the nominee’s NIH Biosketch or equivalent research CV, limit 5 pages.
  • Previous awardees are not eligible for the same award.

Winners of the Rising Stars of will present their work at the Science and Innovation Center during the ATS International Conference. Certificates will also be awarded during the session.


Past Recipients for the Assembly on Allergy, Immunology, and Inflammation Rising Star Achievement Award 

2019 - Michelle L. Manni, PhD
2019 - Keven M. Robinson, MD
2018 - Rachel G. Scheraga, MD
2018 - Jeffrey A. Haspel, MD, PhD
2017 - Yvonne J. Huang, MD
2017 - Josalyn L. Cho, MD
2016 - Jennifer Alexander-Brett, MD, PhD
2016 - Amir A. Zeki, MD