Assemblies and Sections

HomeMembersAssemblies and Sections ▶ Assembly Working Groups
Assembly Working Groups

Assemblies can choose to form working groups under the purview and approval of the current Assembly Chair. Working groups should include a minimum of five assembly members, but be no larger than twelve. Working groups have a maximum two-year term. Working Groups must complete their goals within the two-year term and cannot be renewed after goals are completed.

Working Groups may be utilized to meet the following goals:

  • Facilitate effective collaboration between Assembly Executive Committees and Assembly Members in a particular
    area within the Assembly;
  • To gain knowledge in a specific topic area under an Assembly;
  • Identify learning gaps in specific disease categories; and
  • Assess assembly membership needs.

Working Groups should not be created if the main objectives of the group are to:

  • Develop an official ATS statement
  • Program sessions at the conference
  • Plan networking events

These are the functions of both the Planning and Program Committees of the Assemblies and those committees must be utilized.

Current Assembly Working Groups

Allergy Immunology & Inflammation

AII Early Career Professionals Working Group
Dr. Rachel Greenberg Scheraga, MD
AII Microbiome in Lung Disease Working Group
Dr. Stavros Garantziotis, MD

Behavioral Science and Health Services Research

BSHSR Early Career Professionals Working Group
Dr. Jared Chiarchiaro, MD, MSCR
Dr. Timothy Amass, MD, MSci
BSHSR Evidence Synthesis Methodology Working Group
Dr. Kevin C. Wilson, MD, ATSF

Clinical Problems

CP Early Career Professionals Working Group
Dr. Lida P Hariri, BS, MD, PhD
Dr. Karin A. Provost, DO, PhD, FCCP
CP Industry Working Group
Dr. Mary E Strek
Prof. Antonio Anzueto, MD, ATSF
CP Women's Working Group
Dr. Jessica Bon, MD, MS, ATSF
Dr. Rupal J. Shah, MD, MSCE

Critical Care

CC Clinical PharmD
Dr. Brittany D Bissell, PharmD, PhD
CC Early Career Professionals Working Group
Dr. Lisa Karen Vande Vusse, MD, MSCE
Dr. Vincent Liu, MD, MS
Critical Care-Pre-ICU
Dr. Kusum Sara Mathews, MD, MPH
Dr. Ithan Peltan, MD, MSc

Environmental, Occupational and Population Health

EOPH Early Career Professionals Working Group
Dr. Jason J. Rose, MD, MBA
Dr. Meghan E. Rebuli, PhD


PEDS Early Career Professionals Working Group
Dr. Kristie R. Ross, MD, MS

Pulmonary Infections and Tuberculosis

PI-TB Early Career Professionals Working Group
Dr. John Evan McGinniss, MD
Dr. Bashar Samih Staitieh, MD
PI-TB Pneumonia Working Group
Dr. Scott E. Evans, MD, ATSF
Dr. Charles Dela Cruz, MD, PhD, ATSF
PI-TB Tuberculosis Working Group
Max R. O Donnell

Pulmonary Rehabilitation

PR Early Career Professionals Working Group
Dr. Narelle S Cox, PhD, PT
Dr. Sarah Roark, MD
PR Reimbursement Working Group
Ms. Christine M. Garvey MSN, MPA, FNP, MSN, MPH
PR Standards Working Group
Prof. Michael Steiner, MBBS, MD, FRCP

Respiratory Cell & Molecular Biology

RCMB Early Career Professionals Working Group
Dr. Clemente J. Britto-Leon, MD, ATSF
RCMB Innovation and Entrepreneurial Working Group
Dr. Milica Vukmirovic, PhD
Dr. Melanie Koenigshoff, MD, PhD, ATSF

Respiratory Structure & Function

RSF Early Career Professionals Working Group
Dr. Corrine R Kliment, MD, PhD
Dr. Sana Siddiqui, PhD
RSF The PhD and Basic and Translational Scientists Working Group
Dr. Blanca Camoretti-Mercado, PhD
Dr. Thomas J. Mariani, PhD

Sleep Respiratory & Neurobiology

SRN Early Career Professionals Working Group
Dr. Lucas M Donovan, MD, MS
Dr. Vaishnavi Kundel, MD

Thoracic Oncology

TO Early Career Professional Working Group
Dr. Nichole T. Tanner, MD, MSCR
Dr. Mark M. Fuster, MD
Last Reviewed: December 2019